Skip to Georgetown India Initiative Full Site Menu Skip to main content


The Georgetown India Initiative draws on the deep and broad expertise on India from across the university.

Irfan Nooruddin is director of the Georgetown University India Initiative and the Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani Professor of Indian Politics in the School of Foreign Service at Georgetown University. He is the chair of an interdisciplinary faculty committee comprised of members from eight of Georgetown’s nine schools that oversees the initiative’s operations. Ambassador Richard Verma, a Walsh School of Foreign Service Centennial Fellow, supports and advises the India Initiative and participates in its signature events and programs.

Faculty Committee

Uwe Brandes headshot

Uwe Brandes

School of Continuing Studies

Associate Professor of the Practice

Uday Chandra headshot

Uday Chandra

Georgetown University in Qatar

Assistant Professor

Raj Desai headshot

Raj Desai

Department of Government; School of Foreign Service

Associate Professor

Brahmachari Vrajvihari Sharan headshot

Brahmachari Vrajvihari Sharan

Campus Ministry; Center for New Designs in Learning and Scholarship (CNDLS); Department of Linguistics; Department of Theology

Director; Adjunct Professor

R. Kent Weaver headshot

R. Kent Weaver

Department of Government; McCourt School of Public Policy